What I’ve learnt in 2012 #7: Pourovers

Leave a comment

January 14, 2012 by jessperriam

Close up of scrap of paper with pourover coffee instructions.

If you can read this, you might just be able to make your own pourover coffee

You didn’t think I was going to have a blog series about learning without including a post about coffee, did you?

I love a good coffee geek out. As a coffee snob (telling it like it is), there’s pretty much no better way for me to spend my Saturday morning than drink a spectacular coffee and geeking out with the baristas and roasters.

Last weekend I bought myself a Hario v60 pourover set to make my very own pourover coffee at home. This is good for two reasons:

1. They take ages to make compared to espresso. They waste valuable barista time.
2. They’re really expensive… because they waste valuable barista time.

But pour overs are the best way to drink coffee, in my incredibly humble opinion. You don’t put as much pressure on the beans compared to espresso, which allows a lot of the fruity, juicy flavours to come out. Plus you don’t get that weird, gluggy feeling after drinking milky coffee.

So I asked the chaps at Elixir if they had any roasts that are good for pourovers.

Did they?! They gave me a tutorial on how to best weigh and grind the coffee, set it up and time the pour. They even wrote it all down for me, recommended an iPhone app that will tell you everything you ever wanted to know (Intelligentsia for those who are interested) AND they gave me a taste from the tutorial.

So what did I learn today? Lots! And I got heavily caffeinated.

Tomorrow I get to put what I learnt into practice. Good times.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

