What I’ve learnt in 2012 #4: Japanese fusion

Leave a comment

January 5, 2012 by jessperriam

Dear Modern Japanese fusion cuisine,

You have captured my tastebuds and my belly.

Because of you I have learnt that Japanese cuisine is far more than sushi and teriyaki and katsu. Thank goodness.

Oh no, you have taught me that it is perfectly acceptable to have lamb and scallop in the same dish

Lamb and scallop from Nine Fine Food

Lamb and scallop entree from Nine Fine Food

And because of this, one day you will gently guide me to eat sashimi for the first time like my dining companions did.

Sashimi tray

One day... soon!

You reminded me that you can have a plate of little delicious things instead of a plate piled high with something that tastes the same.

Plate with salmon, seafood gyoza, scallop, prawn and tuna

Oceans main dish with salmon, seafood gyoza, scallop, prawn and tuna

And lastly, you taught me that dessert doesn’t need to be dense or sickly sweet to hit the spot.

Pot of green tea creme brûlée

Green tea creme brûlée, words cannot describe how divine it was.

But mostly I learnt that my friend Margot was quite marvellous for introducing me to the delightful, delicious Nine Fine Food.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

