What I’ve learnt in 2012 #3: Thunderstorms

Leave a comment

January 4, 2012 by jessperriam

I love thunderstorms as much as the next person. But not the next dog because then I’d be whimpering. Plus, I’m not a dog. No, really. Not a dog.

The boom crash of it all it really rather exciting. I know I’m not eight years old anymore but I still count ‘one one thousand, two one thousand…’ to see how far away the lightning is. And the lightning that so close you hear the crack of it scares the heck outta me.

And when I’m awake that all good and awesome.

But thunderstorms in the early hours of the morning are about as bad as someone texting you in the middle of the night. You know it’s happened because it’s stirred and disrupted but not enough to completely wake you up.

There was one of those thunderstorms this morning and the end result was epic grogginess. There was not enough caffeine in the world this morning.

So I’ve learnt that thunderstorms are amazing. Unless you’re asleep, then they should have the common decency to pipe down and tiptoe away.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

