What I’ve learnt in 2012 #2: Longevity

Leave a comment

January 2, 2012 by jessperriam

I think today if anything else has solidified one fact: Should I not have an horrific skydiving, car or, omelette crafting accident, I will live to a rather old age.

It’s not normal to be 26 and still have the whole set of grandparents, is it? And yes, grandparents are like those toys you used to get from cereal packets. Collect the set and then collect more than four because older people for the most part have fascinating stories to tell.

Anyway. The youngest of my four (still very much alive and kicking) grandparents had her 80th birthday party this afternoon.

If the collective longevity of my grandparents is anything to go by, then I can expect to live well past 80. Hip hip hooray! Somehow I doubt I’ll still be able to cram everything I want to into my projected long life. Not-so hip hip hooray.

Brithday cake with 80th birthday candles on it.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

