Work, pub quizzes and hazy horizons

1

October 7, 2011 by jessperriam

Ok, so that previous posts put me on par with some emos of late 2004.

Whatever happened to emos? Thank goodness that phase was relatively shortlived.

Yet again – no secret blog, just nothing of note. After all, I am in Perth right now.

So what do I tell you?

Do I tell you about…

work?

Work is good. I work with nice people doing  a bit of writing, a bit of online and some learning. I know.  A job where you learn things too. Unheard of! It’s good.

the foot?

The foot is healing nicely. There are still days where it hurts and I’m slow getting around. But I reckon I’ll be back to normal in a week or so.

the loneliness?

I realised how little of the last five years I’ve actually spent in Perth. And how many of my friends have moved or drifted away. Or how many of my friends I’ve moved away from.

I moved to Manchester with gusto and a passion for meeting people. It was easy to fit in and life was great. I reluctantly came back to Perth and schlepped my way through the first month. I feel like I don’t fit in and life seems a little… beige. It’s not that I don’t like people. But I’ve found myself back in the place where I was picked last for the teams in Phys Ed.  I’m going to join… something. Meet people. Do… stuff! Please let me know of worthwhile stuff to do

the future?

I’m in Perth for the near future. Near future = until Christmas. I plan to investigate some very flexible postgrad options for next year. I hope not to be in Perth. But to clumsily quote John Lennon, ‘life is what happens to you when you’re busy making other plans.’ This period of time will no doubt be much like that.

the victorious pub quiz?

In an effort to curb the loneliness I reinstated Tuesday pub quizzes. This was a big thing back at uni; we were constantly victorious. After uni I moved away and when I did move back my job wasn’t conducive to quizzing.

But now it’s back on. Our team were victorious again like the good old days. But if we were being completely honest, the competition has dropped off a little.

My life: a never-ending roundabout of work, pub quizzes, and hazy horizons.

 

 

One thought on “Work, pub quizzes and hazy horizons

  1. claredy says:

    we still love you and would be so happy if you schlepped down to bunno – its fun down here! far nicer than stupid old perf anyhows

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

