Any excuse for a street party

3

May 2, 2011 by jessperriam

I have that feeling you get on a Sunday night at the end of school holidays. So many days of doing nothing, the prospect of doing something is big and scary and disenchanting.

Here in Manchester we’ve had two four day weekends in a row. One thanks to Easter and the next thanks to these two people getting married, don’t know if you’ve heard of them the guy was called William, the lady was called Kate, it was kind of a big deal…

But anyway, on Friday morning I meandered to the bus stop feeling very over dressed. Epically overdressed, in fact. I have a blue and grey chequered taffeta dress with my purple ‘the poor didn’t want this one’ jacket over the top. I was channeling my inner grandmother and my inner 1940s poise. But it didn’t help the fact that I stood out like a sore thumb in one of Manchester’s roughest neighbourhoods where no-one plays fancy dress.

I hopped off the bus in the city centre and made my way to Spinningfields where there was a big screen and deckchairs and most importantly, my housemate, Rachel and some friends. I made it just in time to see the important people wander into Westminster Abbey, but I had to call my friend Lauren back in Perth, just to have a five minute gush about it. The marvels of modern broadcasting meant we were watching the exact same telecast in completely different hemispheres.

Once the ceremony was over, it was time to wander over to one of my favourite bits of Manchester, the Northern Quarter, to go to a street party, the whole excuse for my fancy get-up. Edge Street isn’t a massive street, in fact, it’s pretty unassuming at the best of times, but as I rounded Thomas Street, I saw that it had been transformed into a 1940s street party complete with bunting, people in period costume and get this – a tank!

It was my first street party and it was amazing, I caught up with my favourite Northern Quarter people, met some new Northern Quarter people and had a brilliant time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Any excuse for a street party

  1. Carol Perriam says:

    Wow it looks like you had a great time and I hope the inner grandmother channeling worked. The atmosphere must have been amazing.

  2. lauren says:

    looks so quintessentially english! loved that i could share a little bit of it with u!

  3. […] Perriam Skip to content HomeAboutContactReadingThirty before 30Travel Tales ← Any excuse for a street party May 5, 2011 · 6:09 pm ↓ Jump to […]

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

