Top 5 Tuesday (on a Thursday) – 25 edition

Leave a comment

April 21, 2011 by jessperriam

You’ll have to excuse my tardiness – but it’s well worth it. I promise.

So I recently turned 26 – I’m not one of those people who are perennially 21. Urgh.

But being 25 was immensely pivotal just in the stuff that happened.

So here’s the Top 5 of when I was 25.

1. The epic adventure 

I couldn’t talk about being 25 without mention how I spent a quarter of it – solo with a backpack and an insane amount of flights and train tickets.

I don’t want to pull out all the usual travel cliches because the last thing I’d want is for you to be drowsy 100 words into this post.

But.

I’ve been places I’ve never dreamt, met some amazing people, been mildly irresponsible, stupidly brave and learnt to pack a backpack very, very well.

I’m also very thankful for the epic three months odyssey of Europe and the Middle East because it lead to number two…

2. Starting this blog

Honestly, this blog started as a way to make sure people knew I was still alive, still having fun and to give me the opportunity to make web content while I was travelling. Whether or not there was a financial goal or job opportunity in mind was irrelevant.

I learnt that words are powerful, pictures show only so much of the story and that blogs can be a wonderful way to get to know others.

3. Bradbury’s wedding

I was running out of money, indecisive about what to do next, and one of my besties was getting married on the other side of the world. What would you do?

Go home and watch your friend get married, of course.

So many people say that you rarely regret what you do, but you tend regret what you don’t do.

I would have deeply regretted not being at Bradbury and Wade’s wedding. I have the photo booth pictures to prove it.

4. Moving to Manchester

I cannot tell you how great Manchester is. Or rather, how great it is to live here. It is one of the friendliest, creative, community-driven cities you’ll ever come across.  I’ve never really felt uncomfortable or uncertain about living here.

I feel like part of the furniture already – it’s only been three months.

5. Becoming a pedestrian

Would it surprise you to know that some days I walk 8 kilometres? Ditching the car was one of the best decisions I’ve made – financially, health-wise and environmentally – it’s sound.

It also helps that Manchester is relatively flat and compact.

I love walking and walking loves me. The end.

So what next? I shrug my shoulders. Being 25 was brilliant but I’m happy to be another year older.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

