Top 5 Tuesday – Neighbours edition

10

March 21, 2011 by jessperriam

There’s no such thing as a stupid question, only stupid answers.

But to be fair there are some pretty funny questions I get thrown my way when people I meet here in Manchester realise I’m Australian.

So here goes this week’s Top 5:

1. Do you watch Neighbours?

I try not to laugh too hard at the British fixation for the soapie set in suburban Melbourne. I try to explain that Home and Away is a marginally superior product. But then there’s not much else to say because while Neighbours may be one of Australia’s greatest entertainment exports, it’s still a pretty shoddy piece of television.

2. So errr… where in Australia are you from?

I smile and say, “Uhhh, I’m from Perth.” To which they respond with either a blank look or ask:

3. Is that the bit that was flooded?

And I say, “Afraid not. That was all the way on the other side of the country.” And then they say, “I have an uncle who lives in Brisbane / Sydney.” And I smile and nod because that’s about as interesting as telling someone in Manchester that I have an uncle who comes from Birmingham.

4. So do you drink Fosters there?

To which I respond: “Friends don’t let friends drink Fosters.” Incidentally, the Fosters brewery is a matter of blocks away from my house here in Manchester. Sometimes there are nice brewing smells wafting over, but mostly it smells sort of like bakery smells, not beer smells.

5. Do you say ‘G’day Mate’?

After picking myself up off the floor from their spectacular attempts at a Crocodile Dundee-esque Australian accent, I explain that I didn’t even hear someone use the phrase ‘fair dinkum’ in a real life context until I was 22 years old. Imagine if I asked a British person if they say, “Tally ho!’ or “Jolly good, old chap!” Unlikely, but hilarious.

Have you ever encountered any odd questions about your country or city of origin? Let me know – comments box below!

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – Neighbours edition

  1. Kyliemac says:

    I actually knew where Perth was located on the Australian map years (dare I say a decade?) before I could identify where Melbourne or Sydney are.

    Foster’s has got some mean marketing. Got all us Americans snowed. But I know better now!

    • jessperriam says:

      Well done! Gold star in Australian geography for you. It is the most isolated capital city in the world so it always astounds me that people can’t place it.

  2. Mandy Pink says:

    When we were in Bali we had the traditional “do you have a pet koala?” “do you see Kangaroos around the place?” but that’s pretty boring. Although we did tell one person we were from Perth and they said “Oh, was your house ok in the cyclone” couldn’t help but laugh

  3. homeisaname says:

    I like it when people ask me if I’m inbred.

  4. Jacob Black says:

    Neighbours is far better than Home and Away. That is all.

    • jessperriam says:

      Wars have been started over far sillier things… Actually no. I think Australian soapies would be the stupidest thing to start a war over but suffice to say, if there was, Flamin’ Alf Stewart would put up a hell of a fight.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

