Beauty when you least expect it

2

February 10, 2011 by jessperriam

Manchester is not pretty.

There. I said it.

If I wanted stunning vistas and oceans sunsets that leave you begging for more, I would have stayed in Perth. But I haven’t and that’s ok. Because my UK visa will run out one day and I will be back to the land of wonder on tap. For now photos and memories will have to do.

But Manchester makes me smile.

Rather, the unexpected beauty of it makes me smile.

Take a trip down Oxford Road on the upper level of a bus and you’ll know what I mean. You can watch life go by at about 20 miles per hour, and you feel like you’re moving through the treetops.

A glance at the intricacy of the buildings that sprouted from the spoils of the Industrial Revolution makes you realise that physical beauty can be constructed by man and yet be functional. I need to photograph these buildings to show you just what I mean. The detail on these buildings is amazing.

The John Rylands Library may be my favourite building in the entire city – a legacy built by Ryland’s widow to house their vast collection of books. It’s built in this Gothic style which is reminiscent of those old European cathedrals. Except it was built in the early 20th Century.

Meeting new people, talking to them, geeking out over coffee or board games or writing or  life’s questions you’ve been pondering is a beautiful, beautiful thing. Aside from the odd cranky bus driver (every city has them), Manchester has genuinely beautiful people who are interested and interesting.

This week I’ve been walking out my door, down the street to the bus stop with the biggest grin on my face. It’s not because the rain has stopped (for now). It’s not even due to a sense of self-satisfaction. It’s the look that I get when I’m drinking it all in.

2 thoughts on “Beauty when you least expect it

  1. doyoudotea says:

    I’m from Manchester & I totally agree!
    The sights aren’t natural, but whenever I’m in the centre, I can’t help but get a bit of pride when I look at how ‘pretty’ it is in an unconventional way. So many different buildings from various eras with a variety of different people.
    Lovely blogpost 🙂
    Jen x

    • jessperriam says:

      Thanks, I’ve only been in Manchester for less than a month so I was wondering whether it was just me taking notice of it all. I’m glad I’m not the only one who this Manchester has its own special brand of beauty.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

