Week Two: inducing normality

Leave a comment

January 24, 2011 by jessperriam

It’s week two and the insanity has passed and the normality is starting to sink in.

It’s felt as though I’ve been here longer than a week and a half. I think that’s a good thing.

So in dot points (because I can), here’s what I’ve done in week two:

  • Read lots of The Guardian – not international The Guardian Weekly, but the real deal. Bradbury offered to send me over some issues of The West Australian. I’m fairly certain I scoffed. But I do miss Inside Cover. And Rob Broadfield’s sniffy restaurant reviews which are more literary masterpieces in the art of written insult rather than pieces that inspire you to blow a paycheck on posh food.
  • I went back to Edinburgh! For two days because I love it so – I have the sneaky suspicion that city is sprinkled in something magical. It makes me grin like an idiot.
  • But then I came back to Manchester. Because silly me, I bought a return train ticket. But also because I’ve found a great community who have been incredibly friendly and welcoming. I’ve learnt a crazy, hectic card game, discussed setting up a book club and watched Good Will Hunting with 10 or so of my new best friends. Yep, I rather like it here.
  • Drank stupid amounts of hot chocolate. Because the coffee here is dismal. I’ve found a fellow coffee snob who backs up this expert opinion. I’m going to get fat(ter) from all the delicious, warm, creamy goodness.
  • Regained my calves of steel (registered trademark) through all of the walking I’ve done.
  • Been repulsed by the nasty habit of people to spit on the pavement here. Tissues, anyone? Even an old fashioned hankie? I don’t want to sidestep your phlegm.
  • Seen a lot of films and read a fair few books. Keep an eye out for a review post in the next few days.
Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

