Oh hi there winter

7

January 13, 2011 by jessperriam

Hey everyone!

I’ve donned the explorer hat (actually, I’m not wearing a hat. We’ll call it the Emperor’s New Hat) and I’m in the Northern Hemisphere.

Arriving somewhere new always sucks for me. I’m sure I’ve told you about the whole anxiety problemos before. If I weren’t jetlagged (my current excuse for slothfulness) I’d link you up to it.

The symptoms are mild panic, some nausea and a head full of ‘what on earth am I doing here?’. I’m not mentally comfortable with the idea of uprooting myself, on my own and venturing into the unknown. I never have been yet the more I do it – the more I force myself to do it – the less of a crazy reaction I have.

The treatment? A sleeping tablet, a quiet book, earplugs and telling a friend how you’re feeling (many, many thanks to the friend I lent on). And the next day some aimless wandering tends to do the trick. But warning, a side effect may be that you take a touristy walking tour of London without taking a camera to capture precious memories of places such as Buckingham Palace, the House of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. Who am I kidding? I don’t think I’d do the happy snap in front of BuckPal ever.

Oh and this is my first taste of winter since 2009. I actually prefer winter over summer (but the in between seasons are the best) so hopefully I won’t be too disappointed about the drizzle and the lack of sunshine.

More news as it comes to hand.

7 thoughts on “Oh hi there winter

  1. Carol Perriam says:

    I am glad the jetlag is passing enjoy the walking around and the sites, and just take it easy. love mum

  2. recycledrose says:

    ooh you went on a walking tour! (yay go Jess!)
    if you feel like having a fancy breakfast go to the wolseley (on 160 piccadilly road, get off at piccadilly circus).. so beautiful- inspired by austrian architecture, and fab french toast!
    http://www.thewolseley.com/

    • jessperriam says:

      Ooh I love a fancy breakfast! But.

      a) I’m trying to save cashola.
      b) Solo fancy breakfast looks a little weird. Yes, that’s coming from the girl who has no qualms about seeings films on her own.
      c) I’m in Manchester now.

  3. lauren says:

    okay sound like good reasons.. miss you!!
    have u worn my hat yet? keep writing more posts- i am living vicariously through u 😉

    • jessperriam says:

      I miss you too! I wish I was there for red wine and creme brulee times! And I didn’t get to pack the awesome hat, but I did bring the maroon trenchcoat and I’m pleased to say I wore it today! It’s so delightful!

      I’ve got a few posts up my sleeve. But as for living vicariously through me… my life is a bit of aimless wandering interspersed with the odd pit stop for hot chocolate at the moment.

      • lauren says:

        well i think you are brave and hot chocolate always seems a little more exciting when you are in another hemisphere! i hope the job hunt goes well- and even if not, at least you know you gave it your all and did everything you could to take your life into your own hands and not hold back for fear of anything (which is an accomplishment in itself).. in the meantime i will be waiting with a 3 course dinner party when you do return 😉

      • jessperriam says:

        St. Arbucks is not the patron saint of coffee. But he is the patron saint of hot chocolate, with lashings of cream!

        Yeah, the job hunt should be a challenge. I want to give it my best, but knowing that it’s not the end of the world if it doesn’t work out is so comforting.

        Can one of the courses in this dinner party be one of those amazing soups you used to make at GurVegas?

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

