Fearlessly forward!

6

December 31, 2010 by jessperriam

(I know it’s a little early on to be encasing this in brackets. But I thought I would disclaim the fact that yes, I did just grab the title of this post from my comments box… aaand end brackets!)

Fear is something I grapple with often.

Because it is so, so easy to give into it.

It is incredibly simple to take the path of least resistance and fall back on what you know; on that charted, well-worn ground.

It’s the old smackdown of Security versus Dreaming Big (and seeing how it pans out).

Security has its place, whether it be for financial or family reasons, I respect that. But in other scenarios most of that yearning for security comes straight from fear.

Whatever your belief system, fear is not a good thing. Christianity compels us many a time not to fear. The phrase “Do not fear,” booms out of the Bible many a time.

So why do we still fear?

Is it because we need absolute certainty that it will work out? If that were the case, if we waited for absolute certainty to make every decision and take every step, we wouldn’t be going very far.

Life is turbulent by its very nature. Think back over the last year – how much of it did you meticulously plan? How much of the good did you know would be good with absolute certainty?

I’m going to be honest. Most of the good stuff that happened to me in 2010 (and there was a lot of it) happened through sheer serendipity or things that at the time appeared to be bad luck.

And the bad? Well, it was temporary and served to make the good times sweeter.

Life happened regardless and in spite of fear.

And I guess that’s what I want 2011 to be: lived in spite of fear. I’m an ideas lady and I love to dream big. But fear veiled in terms of ‘reality’ and ‘sensibility’ often dampen the fire in my belly.

In 2011, I’m going to dream big and live it in spite of fear.

What do you think?

Thanks to Marc for the “fearlessly forward!” It fit perfectly.

6 thoughts on “Fearlessly forward!

  1. Elisabeth Ford says:

    Embrace the fearlessness Jess, it is the only way to go. You don’t want to die wondering as life is too short, get out there and do it I say….we are changing the Perriam way of doing things!!

    • jessperriam says:

      Absolutely. I’m all for breaking the Perriam mould! I can’t wait until we can tell each other war stories of our mould-breaking (mis)adventures over a glass of NZ’s finest wine!

  2. Remember that we are born to achieve anything we set our hearts upon. As the saying goes . . . . What would you do if you knew you could not fail? Strength and Honour for 2011 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    Food for thought-
    “courage is resistance of fear, the mastery of fear, there is no absence of fear”…Craig Silvey quoting Mark Twain

    I read this today, seems fitting for your entry.
    K

  4. jessperriam says:

    It really does. It reminds me that I need to read some Craig Silvey. I can’t believe I haven’t cracked open any of his books!

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

