I caved

3

November 23, 2010 by jessperriam

And I blame Alan Rusbridger.

What did I cave into and who is Alan Rusbridger? I hear you ask.

For non-media folks, Alan Rusbridger is the Editor of The Guardian – everything I’ve ever dreamed of in newspaper format.

He delivered this year’s Andrew Olle lecture about the splintering of the fourth estate.

He talked about the importance of Twitter as an important part of that splintered fourth estate that feeds into mainstream media.

So important, he made a 15 point list.

By the end of his lecture I was feeling pretty bad that I hadn’t touched my Twitter account in two years.

(Yes, I was an early adopter, I hoped on the boat, got a brilliant Twitter name and swiftly hopped off the boat.)

I even felt bad for rolling my eyes and mocking Twitter and Twitterers.

My excuse? I don’t like to be succinct. I like words. Lots. Case in point: this post can’t even be contained to 140 words, let alone 140 characters.

But microblogging? I’ll give it a go.

You can find me @jessyp. Please follow me, I feel the need to expand my Twitter cult.

3 thoughts on “I caved

  1. Steven says:

    Consider yourself followed.

  2. Emma says:

    I too have an unloved twitter account. I have tried and failed to make friends with twitter, this is the only feed I like – http://twitter.com/theworstofperth

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

