Mud Map Monday Turkish edition

1

October 25, 2010 by jessperriam

Sorry it’s 10pm Perth time (1am Tuesday Australian Eastern Standard Time for those playing interstate). It’s barely Mud Map Monday anymore.

I’ve learnt a few things from drawing mud maps:

1. I am phobic of drawing for an audience

Do you remember when you were in Year Three and in art class you had to draw difficult things like people and animals? And remember how much you sucked at drawing those things? Yeah… me too. Except 17 years down the track, my artistic skills haven’t progressed a whole lot.

2. So I delay it with caffeine outings and hatching other harebrained yet awesome schemes.

The power of procrastination is a beautiful, beautiful thing.

3. I screw things up when I draw. A lot.

So that’s why I draw in pencil. If you can’t read something, please, please click on the picture to enlarge it.

Yet despite my misgivings and my delays, I’ve come through with the mud map goods. Last week the enigmatic Jacob Black suggested I draw a mud map of Istanbul. Somewhere I spent a mere week three and a bit months ago (that long ago? sad face). Somewhere I gave away all my maps to because I wanted to spread the Istanbul info love. So I drew this mud map from memory. From my little noggin. Eep.

So that’s why I may have named the Bosphorous as ‘purgatory’ – I had momentarily forgotten the name of the body of water splitting the European side of Istanbul from the Asian side.

Anyhoo… enough stalling, without further ado… here’s the mud map:

Ta dah!

The European side of Istanbul

The Asian side... unexplored by yours truly, unfortunately.

Beyoglu up close and awesome

Sultanahmet - the tourist 'hood.

So that’s my mud map and I’m sticking to it. Please, please, please go to Istanbul and create your own mud map of it. Because goodness knows my mud map isn’t doing the place any justice.

Sometimes I draw mud maps. Sometimes that happens on a Monday. You should suggest a place for me to draw a mud map of.

One thought on “Mud Map Monday Turkish edition

  1. Carol Perriam says:

    Orange, Mudgee or Dubbo Zoo would be nice.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

