Reading list breakthrough

Leave a comment

October 16, 2010 by jessperriam

My quest to read all the Popular Penguins before I’m 30 has had a massive breakthrough today.

I finished read three more books today.

Yes, be amazed – I completed three books today:

Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh

I swore I would finish this book by the end of the weekend. I’ve been carting this book around, reading the sneaky chapter or two of it at a time. But I was getting annoyed at my lack of progress.

The tale of wacky British upper-crust spanning from the 1920s to 1940s was a slow burner. I found it tough to get into, but once the plot heated up a bit, it had flashes of brilliance.

I love Waugh’s turn of phrase. Some of the lines he put in the mouths of his characters are simply inspired.

Worth reading, but be prepared to spend a lot of time with it.

One Hundred Great Books in Haiku – David Bader

One hundred books. In

seventeen carefully thought

out syllables. LOL

Journey From Venice – Ruth Cracknell

Australian veteran actress Ruth Cracknell recounts the sudden onset of terminal illness in her husband Eric while on holiday in Venice. It’s a touching account of unconditional love, fierce loyalty and, making the most of every moment.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

