The wedding induced intermission

Leave a comment

September 5, 2010 by jessperriam

The breeze was cool, the clouds were trying to decide whether to release their load.

Half the crowd gathered were feeling a little worse for wear, but dressed to the nines nonetheless.

But when the 72 people had gathered (from Sydney, country New South Wales, suburban Perth and Scotland), saw the beautiful bride make her way to her ecstatic groom, there was no where else in the world the group would have rather been yesterday afternoon.

And that included me.

Keryn and Wade are two people that I’ve known for a relatively short time. But they are two of the most delightful friends I’ve been blessed with.

I met Keryn at work, she’d just moved to Perth from Sydney and I’d just moved back to Perth from Orange and we were both the bewildered new kids at the ABC in Perth.

Perth is a hard town to crack into – mostly because everyone’s tucked up in bed by 9 – so we hit it off straight away. Keryn has become such a firm friend and a rock, really. We finish each other’s sentences and steal one another’s vocabulary. It’s that scary.

And Wade… well he’s like that big brother that continually takes the piss out of you and somehow you tolerate it because he comes through with the hugs and the attention and the questionable advice when it’s really needed.

I love them both to bits.

So when the 4th of September drew closer and closer and my travel indecision was driving me insane, I knew there was one place I really wanted to be. And that was at their wedding.

(small piece of info: yes, I’m heading back overseas in a few weeks…)

And I tried so, so hard to keep it a surprise. But I called Keryn from Edinburgh to gild the lily a bit more and build up the idea that I really wasn’t coming back. But the voice on the other end of the phone said, “Jess, you have to come back!” and went into a long winded, dramatic story of a hen’s weekend gone horribly wrong.

And. I just couldn’t perpetuate the lie. I fessed up and fudged up the surprise. But let’s be honest, there was a still a big chunk of surprise to be had there.

So yesterday I got to see one of my closest friends look absolutely perfect and have the classiest, most personal wedding I’ve been to in a long time.

I’m so thrilled to have been given the opportunity to share Keryn and Wade’s special day with them.

I’ve said something ad nauseum this week.

“You often regret the things you don’t do more than the things you do.”

I would have regretted it, kicked myself and beat myself up if I hadn’t gone.

And as we danced the night away to what can only be described as the best wedding music ever, I thought to myself, “This very moment, there is nowhere else I’d rather be.”

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

