The lost week

3

August 24, 2010 by jessperriam

I’ll be the first to admit I’m losing track of time.

I have no idea where the last week and a half went.

Actually I do. I frittered it away in Ireland.

Which is odd, I went there on the spur of the moment to vote in the Federal Election. I ended up getting sick with the hell cold.

I exacerbated that by wandering around aimlessly in Dublin, in the cold, in the wet, in the intermittent glorious sunshine.

And then I stooped to a new low. I took a day trip. On one of those coaches.

You know it’s probably time to settle when you take day trips.

But oh no. By the end of the week, I had camera bits and pieces in to be repaired so I was stuck. Stuck in Ireland until my camera filter was unstuck.

So the only reasonable thing to do is go to Northern Ireland, right?

Because when you have nothing better to do than go to the Giant’s Causeway, then you should probably go – even if it does involve one of those naff day trips.

Self Portrait - stuck in Northern Ireland

After returning to Dublin and having my indecisive hissy-fit. I remained stuck. In Dublin. Due to my indecision. And I was still sick. And let’s face it: when you’re sick you just can’t be bothered doing anything. Decision making, booking transport, accommodation. It all takes a backseat to navel gazing and aimless wandering.

I love Dublin. But I needed to leave Ireland.

So after getting my camera stuff back yesterday, I plotted my escape. An escape that didn’t involve walking long distances with my backpacks (ie. not walking to the Dublin Busaras).

So one taxi ride, a ferry trip (complete with nausea), four train journeys (yes, four legs, thanks to the strange UK rail system) and another taxi ride later, I find myself in the unofficial UK base of Jess, Edinburgh.

I have escaped Ireland. I have to admit, I did feel more than a little sad about that escape. It’s the first time I’ve actually felt sad as I was leaving a city.

The lost week is over.

3 thoughts on “The lost week

  1. Mandy says:

    pretty photo. got your postcard and wish i could write u back (the old fashioned way)

  2. recycledrose says:

    awwww jess, my little vagabond (been wanting to use that word for a while).. what are u doing in scotland?

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

