Indecision 2010

1

August 22, 2010 by jessperriam

I’ve been agonising for the better part of a week or two.

Stay on or go home?

And I’ve tried to answer this question in so many different ways. None of these has provided a solution. It’s as if the whole world is saying, “Just make up your own mind!”

And being able to make my own decisions has been the best bit of travelling alone.

There are no fights in the decision making process for one.

If you make an excellent decision, you pat yourself on the back.

If you make a shit decision… well nobody has to know. And there isn’t anyone to say, “See, I told you that was a bad idea.”

Except with this part of the decision making process, I could really use a helping hand.

Get to the point Jess.

I don’t know whether it was the sore throat that made its existence very well known last week.

I’m not sure if it was the cold sweat that broke across my forehead while walking across the O’Connell Bridge in Dublin, fighting a fever while trying to carry my two 10 kilogram backpacks from one side of the city to the bus station. (The bus station is called the Busaras. Which makes me misread it as Busasaurus. Which makes me think of the Magic School Bus. Hello 1993!)

I’m pretty certain it could have been my left arm slowly going numb after carrying said luggage for 25 minutes.

The discovery of a big bruise on my left leg from my carrybag constantly bashing into it probably contributed.

The moment I sliced my little finger open with my razor while in Belfast hasn’t helped either. (mental note: store razor facing down, next time you pack it!)

But I’ve had enough.

I cannot be bothered backpacking anymore. I want to put my backpack down, have a long, hot shower, buy some new clothes, get some new shoes, cut my hair and just stop for a while. The emphasis there is on the stopping.

Once I stop I know what I want to do.

I just don’t know where.

So I’m leaving the decision down to an also indecisive Australian public.

If Juju stays as Prime Minister, it’s back to Australia I go.

If Creepy Uncle Tony moves into The Lodge, then I’m staying the hell away.

I think I’ve just started a creepy game of heads or tails. I’ll leave it to you to decide who is the head and who is the tails…

One thought on “Indecision 2010

  1. Mandy says:

    You couldnt have said this before the election? This means I have to want one of them to win (and that would have to be Julia if it means you’re coming home – i miss you) instead of not wanting either

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

