Stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before

2

August 13, 2010 by jessperriam

(otherwise known as Dear Manchester,)

I want to like Manchester. I really really want to.

But it’s bloody tricky.

It’s one of those cities that is trading on its “The Smiths / Morrissey / Oasis came from here therefore…” factor. But it’s not the moody or broody Manchester of the ’80s and early ’90s. But hey, a local tattoo shop has this claim to fame:

Entire Australian rugby team... LOL

It’s a jarring mish-mash of old and new. The new reminding me of the Westfield Penrith Plaza – teenage mothers, yoof with hoodies and malls upon malls upon malls.  The old is mostly closed, which is a shame because I want to like it.

The weather is shit. I think I may start a This Is Not Summer campaign (TINS for short). It pisses down with rain. All the time. TINS, my friends. TINS.

The music is… ok. I have a new favourite crazy band in Cats in Paris. I’m all for crazy mid to long term projects and their The Daily News project where they sing the news of the day makes me chuckle. Really chuckle hard.

But apart from that… I shrug my shoulders at Manchester. I just don’t get it.

2 thoughts on “Stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before

  1. Jacob Black says:

    If you do happen to meet any of the members of The Smiths on your travels, assassinate them for me. Their music makes me want to go on a shooting rampage.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

