Thirty before 30

10

August 7, 2010 by jessperriam

It’s been one of those navel gazing weeks. You know, the whole, “Argh! What do I want to be when I grow up? Do I even want to grow up?” moments / days.

Lengthy Facebook conversations at quarter past who knows when, crisis Skype talks before a Bestie’s dance lesson with her fiance have ensued. But the fact remains that while you’re half a day away from home, there’s no one really to sit down and draw pro-con lists with.

Pro-con lists are awesome by the way, much like Leffe shandies. I discovered that nugget of info while drawing up a pro-con list at the pub. Circle of life, don’t you think?

But it’s forced me to think about what I want to achieve: ridiculous, awesome, trivial or incredibly high achieving. I have just under five years until I’m 30. The thought of turning 30 doesn’t bother me (*insert patronising spring chicken remark here*), it’s merely a benchmark, a line in the sand if you will.

So here are thirty things I want to do before I’m 30 years old, I’m going to achieve one of them tonight, by the way (bottle of red in it for whoever guesses first)!

1. Do a road trip of Australia with a car load of friends (ahem, sign up here).
2. Go to the Arctic and/or Antarctic.
3. Have a crack at stand-up comedy.
4. Learn how to roast my own coffee.
5. Be a publisher (or editor or boss lady).
6. Disappear for a while.
7. Walk a long, long distance over a long weekend.
8. Cook a really fancy pants dinner for eight or more of my friends (and no, those chocolate pots won’t be on the menu. Banoffee may be.)
9. Go to a silent disco. Done! 7th of August 2010, Edinburgh Fringe Festival
10. Get another tattoo.
11. Go to Russia.
12. Create a photography camp with my friends, to teach young people good photo skills.
13. Write, produce and film a project with John, Scott, Jayne et al.
14. Hold a Drinking Game film festival.
15. Spend a night in an alternative cover band / supergroup. The set list would include (but not be limited to) Powderfinger, The Whitlams, Phoenix, Placebo, The Swell Season and, and, and.
16. Hire a bouncy castle. Not invite children to bounce.
17. Design, create and wear a dress.
18. Skinny dip in the Indian Ocean.
19. Read all the Popular Penguin  books.
20. Cause a scene in a public place.
21. Spend a day being entirely frivolous.
22. Hold an entire conversation using only quote from The West Wing, Mad Men, Gilmore Girls or Zoolander.
23. Destroy something… yes I know that’s not descriptive enough.
24. Play Goon of Fortune.
25. Create my own pub quiz.
26. Spend a day using both the ‘F’ word and the ‘C’ word as nouns, adjectives, verbs, adverbs. Perhaps that would be a weekend task.
27. Live in Melbourne.
28. Enter the Miss Priscilla competition at the Parkes Elvis Festival.
29. Be interesting enough to be interviewed.
30. Do bog laps of the Fremantle Cappucino Strip (or other like road) with the car stereo blasting some 1960s tunes. And not look in the least bit embarrassed.

So I’m not sure what this list hopes to achieve, but I’ve got five years to tick them off.

My time starts…. NOW!

10 thoughts on “Thirty before 30

  1. I’m going to guess that you’ll disappear for a while. Seems to be the easiest thing to do – turn off your laptop and mobile phone, turn off the lights and they’ll all think your gone!

    Lovely post, I’m in the same situation as you and even though the number 30 doesn’t scare me, people seem to have all these ideas of what you should’ve done by then… Your list is one of the better lists!! 🙂

    • jessperriam says:

      Hi! It’s not disappearing! Although it’s mightily appealing to disconnect and disappear, it wasn’t that.

      I’m glad I made the list, it’s been brewing for a while – I only just realised how frivolous and non-career oriented it is, and how good that is.

      Thanks for swinging past the blog too!

  2. Clare Day says:

    id be in on 1, 2, 8, 12, 13, 16 DEFINITELY, 27,29 and 30 😀

  3. Laney says:

    Can I sign up for road trip and photography camp??? Pleease? 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    Well, If you are looking for accomplices I would be in on the following…

    In no particular order:
    19
    1
    27
    8
    16…
    and 23

    I only have four years tho… so lets get cracking!!

    luv ya! xox

  5. Peter Perriam says:

    Not number 10, surely ?????

    Lots of luv

    Dad

  6. Carol Perriam says:

    I think it might be number 3.

  7. Mandy says:

    well there are aparently 75 new penguin books for youo to make your way through according to the postage on the side of a bus that i saw this morning. Better get reading 😛

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

