iPod hypothetical

5

July 21, 2010 by jessperriam

I’ve been thinking about this since I was stuck on the ferry from Albania to Italy. After being interrogated by the Albanian passport control at the ferry terminal, all I wanted to do was sit back in my reclining seat (my body still hasn’t forgotten the pain) and listen to some tunes.

But I had a very odd thought pass through my mind:

Suppose your iPod/iPhone got very ill and went from having an 80 Gb capacity (a squillion songs) to 30Mb (oooh about 10 songs), which 10 songs would you be perfectly happy listening to over and over again?

I thought about it quite a bit. I have a playlist of my favourite 200 songs – it’s growing and shrinking as I tire of songs and discover new ones.

But if you had to narrow it down to 10, what would you pick? All upbeat songs? More meaningful ones? I guess it comes down to are you a music or a lyrics person?

Anyhoo, if my flimsy 4Gb 2006 iPod Nano had some storage shrinkage, here would be my the I would be perfectly happy to listen to over and over again:

1. Lisztomania – Phoenix
2. Section 13 (Diamonds/Devotion to Majesty) – The Polyphonic Spree
3. Thankyou (for loving my at my worst) – The Whitlams
4. The Rain – Horrorshow
5. Do You Know the Way to San Jose – Dionne Warwick
6. Distant Sun – Crowded House
7. Hyperballad – Bjork
8. In My Life – The Beatles
9. In These Arms – The Swell Season
10. Rough Diamonds – End of Fashion

I’m curious to know what your 10 songs of iPod death would be. I tested out the question on a fellow hostel friend. She said she would just get a new iPod. That my friends, is not a valid answer!

Comments box below, you know what to do!

5 thoughts on “iPod hypothetical

  1. Peter Perriam says:

    An eclectic mix, not in any particular order:
    Greig Peer Gynt
    Procol Harem White Shade of Pale
    John Denver Annies Song
    Ted Mulry Julia
    Queen Bohemian Rhapsody
    Elaine Paige Memory
    The Goons eeh! ah! oh! ooh!
    The Fureys The Green Fields of France
    Santana Abraxas
    The Loved Ones Ever Lovin’ Man

    Plus one for GST and just for you Jess
    Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass Tijuana Taxi

    BTW Met Pieta O’Shaughenessy in Freo today. She sends her love and best wishes.

  2. Michael J Faithfull says:

    In no particular order:

    Smashing Pumpkins – Muzzle
    The Decemberists – The Island Come and See…
    Pearl Jam – Black
    The Mountain Goats – This Year
    Jose Gonzalez – Crosses
    Sufjan Stevens- For all the Widows in Paradise
    Rufus Wainwright – Release the Stars
    David Gray – Kathleen
    Crowded House – Distant Sun
    Beethoven – Emperor Concerto

  3. Matt Jacques says:

    That’s tough, but I guess it boils down to the tracks I never get sick of despite repeated listenings. I’d choose:

    Bonobo – Recurring
    Mountains In the Sky – Stealing through
    Deltron 3030 – Madness
    Headless Chickens – George
    Deftones – Beware
    Skinny Puupy – Politikil
    DJ Shadow – Meets his Maker
    Coda – Rocking Horse
    Charles Mingus – Moanin’
    Danger Doom – Vats of Urine

  4. jessperriam says:

    Matt, your list shows something very clear to me: I need to listen to more music.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

