More answers

1

July 20, 2010 by jessperriam

I’m a little confused or perhaps even a little bemused that when the opportunity to ask questions about Egypt, Turkey or Albania was given, the other less exciting subject matter came up.

There were two very similar questions: Are you really not coming back to Perth, is it a long term thing? And when will you come back to Perth?

Oh dear. Where to start?

Yes, I’m really not coming back to Perth. As I write this, I’m sitting on a train from Bari to Rome, lapping up the fun and excitement that is being unemployed and travelling. The unemployed bit will be temporary, the travelling bit will be interspersed through “days, nights, weekends, holidays” (say this bit with an Arnold Schwarzenegger in Kindgergarten Cop voice, it’s more fun that way). In short: I have a working visa and I’m not afraid to wield it. Is it a long term thing? Hmm… it’s an indefinite thing.

People say I’m euphoric and upbeat because I’m travelling and the honeymoon phase will soon be over. I think that’s patronising. Yes, I am a tourist now, but I’m aware that I will soon be an expat, working, living, being me somewhere different. I know they are two very different things and believe it or not, I’m cool with that. I’m all too aware that settling in a new place will have its ups and downs. I’ve done it before and I’ll do it again – ska problem, as they say in Albania

When will I come back to Perth? I reckon you mean under what life changing circumstances would I hop on a plane back to Western Australia? That’s a tough one. I’m reluctant to say what exactly would drag me to Perth for two reasons:
a) I honestly don’t know.
b) I feel uncomfortable setting out a criteria of sorts because it would be in effect making a promise I may not necessarily be able to keep.

Let’s just keep everyone happy and say, I have a virtual piggy bank that I can smash open should I ever need to return in a hurry.

One thought on “More answers

  1. Emma says:

    Hi Jess,

    Emma from Kal here! Good on you for doing the indefinitele travel thing, I love your writing and I’ll keep following your travels.

    I’d love to go to Turkey and Egypt one day, have never thought about Albania though.

    Em :+)

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

