First night in London

Leave a comment

June 3, 2010 by jessperriam

It could have been messy. It could have been a panic attack. There could have been tears before bedtime.

But I surprise myself sometimes.

What I’d imagined in my head to be a big teary, Casablanca style Rick being jilted at  a Paris train station style farewell turned out to be uneventful.

No one wants to see hysterical tears on the Circle Line, especially when it’s peak hour with a rowdy bunch of Jewish boys wearing the Israeli flag as a cape, yelling at one another between two carriages.

And it’s not considered classy to be teary with mucus streaming down your face in South Kensington.

So what’s a girl to do but have a shower, go to the pub and force yourself to talk to complete strangers.

I never do this unless I absolutely have to.

Why?

Because I’m a wimp.

So pint in hand, I walked up to a group of two girls standing in the mews.

“Hey can I stand with you guys so I don’t look like a complete loser?”

Yeah, classy entrance.

So I went on a jazz gig at a bar at Royal Albert Hall. And it was amazing. The music was phenomenal. They even had a man called John Smith in the band.

Jetlag kicked in during the second set. I wasn’t being rude but I think I fell asleep with my eyes open.

Bed time was just after midnight. Goodness knows what time my brain thought it was.

Leave a Reply

Older stories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and get Jess' most recent Manchester missive fresh in your email inbox

Join 15 other followers

